top of page

This site is a collection of books authored

by Cathleen Van Winkle.     

I adore the Victorian Era, I'm enthralled by all manner

of mysteries, and I have a deep regard for history. The

books I have penned reflect that . . . and much more. 

History Books: 

On the "History" page, I have included information for:


Battles of Freedom: The Life and Times of John Henri Kagi


The Twelve, An Underground Railroad Saga


The History of Mayhew Cabin Museum

Mystery Books:

On the "Mystery" page, I have included a synopsis for each of the full-length novels in The Whitmore House Series including: 


The Whitmore House

The Whitmore House - House Divided

The Whitmore House - Foundations

The Whitmore House - The Experience

The Whitmore House - Remains

The Whitmore House - Spirits

The Whitmore House - Power

The Whitmore House - Proposals


These are "hauntingly romantic novels." The Whitmore House is far more than a beautiful Victorian house (turned Bed & Breakfast) located just outside Oakwood, Nebraska. It's an actively haunted house. No one is more devoted to the Whitmore House more than my main character, Carey. I invite you to follow Carey as she struggles with shyness, falls in love, and deals with active spirits . . .  all while trying to fit into an unforgiving world. As Carey solves one mystery after another in her small town, she learns to overcome, accepts her introversion, and finds her purpose solving mysteries. Much like her creator, Carey thrives on the thrill of the hunt.

John Henri Kagi
John Kagi
  • Facebook

© 2015 History and Mystery by Cathleen Van Winkle.  Proudly created with

bottom of page